Dernière mise à jour: 15/5/2024

Informations de base

Groupe de population
Elderly persons, Persons with disabilities, Poor households

Détails du programme

Objectifs du programme

With poverty among older persons a growing concern, the Government of India launched the National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP) in 1995 in order to provide basic income support to poor households through regular cash transfers. The NSAP has been designed to complement cash transfers from the State-level in order to ensure a nationally defined minimum level of income support. 

Composantes du programme
In the case of the National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP), there are not only different targeting parameters for each component, but each of them also provides different benefits. (i) Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme (IGNOAPS) (ii) Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme (IGNWPS) (iii) Indira Gandhi National Disability Pension Scheme (IGNDPS) (iv) National Family Benefit Scheme (NFBS) (v) Annapurna (in-kind component).
The program covers more than three crore people who are below the poverty line (BPL). This includes approximately 8 million widows, 1 million disabled individuals, and 22 crore elderly (2019).

Ciblage et éligibilité

Critère d'éligibilité
The NSAP targets those living below the national poverty line, in particular older persons, widows, persons with disabilities and those living in poverty as a result of the death of a family member. Within these groups, those who hold a Below Poverty Line (BPL) card are eligible for the scheme.

Couverture et autres informations

Montant des bénéfices
Within the programme, those aged 60 years and older are entitled to INR 200, or USD 3.25 per month, while those aged 80 and over are entitled to INR 500 or USD 8.15 per month, which in addition to transfers from the State can reach up to INR 1000, or USD 16.30 per month. Older persons may also be entitled to receive 10kg of food grains per month depending on their circumstances. Widows aged 40 to 59 and persons with disabilities between 18 and 59 are entitled to receive INR 200, or USD 3.25 per month from the NSAP, plus an equal amount from the State for a total of INR 400 or USD 6.50 per month. The NSAP also covers a one-time transfer of INR 10,000 or USD 165 to families upon the death of a primary breadwinner.
Social Protection Toolbox. 2019. India’s National Social Assistance Programme. Accessible:,are%20eligible%20for%20the%20scheme. Accessed 18 Feb 2024
Fréquence de paiement/livraison
Monthly plus a one-time transfer to families upon the death of a primary breadwinner.
Durée minimale et maximale des prestations (le cas échéant)
Benefits cease in case of death of the beneficiary or if the benefits are not withdrawn within a reasonable amount of time
Mécanismes et fréquence de suivi et évaluation
The Ministry of Rural Development is assisted by a National Social Assistance Advisory Committee established at all governance levels in the process of monitoring and evaluation. State governments will produce monthly and quarterly progress reports. These reports should be produced automatically once the programme’s monitoring and information system is fully operational
Legal Framework
The NSAP aims to fulfill the principles prescribed in Article 41 of the Constitution of India. Article 41 directs the state to provide public assistance to citizens who are unable to maintain themselves due to old age, sickness, or disability.