Towards universal social protection: Latin American pathways and policy tools

In celebration of its 6 month anniversary, socialprotection.org will present the Webinar “Towards universal social protection: Latin American pathways and policy tools. The webinar, taking place on March 10th at 11am (UTC-3, Santiago) will explore the content of the book by the same title, published by the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC).

The publication integrates the interregional project “Time for equality: strengthening the institutional framework of social policies”, financed by the United Nations Development Account. The book details and debates ECLAC’s vision of social protection, discussing the policy tools and programmes pursued in Latin America.

Simone Cecchini (Social Affairs Officer, Social Development Division, ECLAC) will present the publication and highlight some of the main topics it addresses.

Sergei Soares (Senior Researcher, Ipea) will discuss the presentation.

The IPC-IG will be in charge of the webinar’s moderation.

The focus of the publication is on the expanding social protection coverage in the region and the pathways chosen by Latin American and Caribbean countries towards achieving universal coverage. Its target audience is comprised by international and national decision-makers at all levels as well as researchers who are interested in the region’s developments in the area of social protection.

In particular, the webinar will address the following points:

- The rights-based and life-cycle approach to social protection;

- Latin American policy tools, development models and innovations in the area of social protection in the last 10 years;

- Coverage, legal framework, segmentation and financing of social protection policies and programmes.

We invite you to register as an audience member of the webinar.

Access the book here!

Related Material:

Non-Contributory social protection programmes in Latin America and Caribbean Database

 

 

11 - 11.30am – Presenter: Simone Cecchini (Social Affairs Officer, Social Development Division, ECLAC)

11.30 – 11:40am – Discussant: Sergei Soares (Senior Researcher, Ipea)

11:40 – 12pm - Questions from the audience

 

Date: 10th March 2016

Time: 11am – 12pm

(UTC-3, Brasilia)

9am – 10am (UTC -5, Washington DC)

2pm – 3pm (UTC, London/United Kingdom)

3pm – 4pm (UTC+1, Paris/France)

5pm – 6pm (UTC+3, Nairobi/Kenya)

9pm – 109pm (UTC+7, Bangkok/Thailand)                 

1am – 2am (UTC+11, Canberra/Australia)

About the Panellist:

Simone Cecchini

Simone Cecchini is Social Affairs Officer with the Social Development Division of the United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC), based in Santiago, Chile. His research is characterized by a multi-disciplinary approach and a focus on equity and human rights. He has collaborated in the preparation of various institutional reports on development, poverty reduction and equity, such as Time for Equality: Closing Gaps, Opening Trails,  the Social Panorama of Latin America,  and The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs): a Latin American and Caribbean Perspective. He has edited a series of publications on Social Protection Systems in Latin America and the Caribbean, covering 21 countries of the region.

Between 1998 and 2002, prior to joining ECLAC, Mr. Cecchini worked at the World Bank’s Poverty Group, where he combined quantitative and qualitative data to analyze the socio-economic performance of developing countries from all regions of the world, and performed evaluation and research fieldwork on uses of information and communications technologies for poverty reduction in rural India.

Sergei Soares

Sergei Soares holds a bachelor’s degree in Physics from the Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro (1990), a Master’s degree (1995) and a Ph.D. in Economics (2010) from the University of Brasília—UnB (2010). He joined the IPC-IG as a Senior Researcher in 2015. He was the president of the Institute for Applied Economic Research (Ipea) from May 2014   to April 2015. He has been a researcher at that institution since 1998, working in the areas of inequality, poverty, education, racial discrimination and the labour market. His areas of expertise are economics and econometrics, with an emphasis on Economics of Welfare. Previously, he worked at the Brazilian Ministry of Education (MEC) and the World Bank, in the Education field.

 

The live recording of the webinar will be available for download on socialprotection.org’s Virtual Campus.